Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Republic of Ireland [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
18.11.2019 at 15:00 Felix Brych (Germany) Attendance:
Republic of Ireland 1 - 1 Denmark
Referee: Aviva Staium European Cup Qualifier / Prog X 2-match

Matt Doherty (85)
Martin Braithwaite 73 mins,
Opening squads
Darren Randolph
Matt Doherty
Shane Duffy
John Egan
Enda Stevens
Alan Browne
Jeff Hendrick
Glen Whelan
Conor Hourihane
David Mc Goldrick
James Mc Clean
Kasper Schmeichel,
Simon Kjaer,
Thomas Delaney,
Christian Eriksen,
Martin Braithwaite,
Mathias Jorgensen,
Henrik Dalsgaard,
Jens Stryger Larsen,
Lasse Schone ,
Yussuf Poulsen,
Andreas Cornelius
Kieran O Hara
Mark Travers
Ciaran Clarke
Kevin Long
Robert Brady
Alan Judge
Josh Cullen
Jack Byrne
Seanie Maguire
Callum Robinson
James Collins
Troy Parrott
Jesper Hansen (G)
Frederik Rønnow (G)
Peter Ankersen
Joachim Andersen
Jonas Knudsen
Andreas Christensen
Robert Skov
Christian Gytkjær
Kasper Dolberg
Christian Nørgaard
Daniel Wass
Pierre-Emile Højbjerg
Ciaran Clarke -> John Egan (46)
Callum Robinson -> Conor Hourihane (68)
Seanie Maguire -> Glen Whelan (82)
Holberg for Delaney 13 mins,
Dolberg for Cornelius 33 mins,
A Chritensen for Schone 83 mins,
Yellow cards
None. Schone 33mins,
Schmeichel 90+3 mins
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Stats: First international goal for Matt Doherty, Mick Mc Carthyy's last game in his second stint as manager

The Republic of Ireland’s place in the play-offs for the 2020 European Championships has been confirmed as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Denmark at the Aviva Stadium on Monday night.

18th Nov 2019

Ireland knew a win against Denmark would secure an automatic spot in the tournament next summer but despite a positive performance and a late goal from Matt Doherty, Martin Braithwaite’s finish was enough to ensure the spoils were shared.

Following an uneventful opening to the game, the Danes suffered a couple of significant blows as both Thomas Delaney and Andreas Cornelius was forced to withdraw with injuries.

The Republic grew into the match and they finished the first half strongly but they just couldn’t edge in front before the break.

David McGoldrick caused the opposition’s defence numerous problems and after 34 minutes his over-hit pass sent Conor Hourihane through on goal but the Aston Villa man side-footed his effort straight at Kasper Schmeichel.

McGoldrick created an opportunity for Alan Browne moments later but the Cork native could only drive his half volley from distance narrowly wide of the far left post.

Mick McCarthy was forced to make a switch at the interval with John Egan being replaced by Ciaran Clark but the Boys in Green continued to play on the front foot.

Conor Hourihane again went close to breaking the deadlock at the beginning of the second half but following a clever short corner his cross was parried away by Schmeichel under severe pressure from the Irish attackers.

Ciaran Clark headed off target from a corner on the hour shortly before McGoldrick fired over on the turn as the home side pressed for the lead.

But as they began to pile players forward they left themselves open at the back and Denmark took advantage with 17 minutes remaining as they scored against the run of play.

Henrik Dalsgaard’s cross from the right-wing picked out the run of Martin Braithwaite and on the stretch, he managed to stab the ball past Randolph from close range.

The Irish battled until the end and they got an equaliser in the closing stages with Matt Doherty heading Enda Stevens’ cross home at the back post but it wasn’t to be as the visitors held on to the point that sees them finish second with Ireland third in Group D.

The draw for the play-offs will now take place on Friday.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Darren Randolph; Matt Doherty, Shane Duffy, John Egan (Ciaran Clark ht), Enda Stevens; Conor Hourihane (Callum Robinson 68), Glenn Whelan (Sean Maguire 81); Alan Browne, Jeff Hendrick, James McClean; David McGoldrick.

DENMARK: Kasper Schmeichel, Simon Kjaer, Thomas Delaney (Pierre Emile Hojbjerg 13), Christian Eriksen, Martin Braithwaite, Mathias Jorgensen, Henrik Dalsgaard, Jens Stryger Larsen, Lasse Schone (Andreas Christensen 83), Yussuf Poulsen, Andreas Cornelius (Kasper Dolberg 33).

Referee: Felix Brych (Germany).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.