Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
14.11.2017 at 19:00 Marienlyst, Drammen Attendance:
Norway 2 - 1 Under 21
Referee: Ville Nevalainen (FIN) European Qualifier-match

Martin Odegaard 19 mins
Iver Fossum 90+1 mins
Jake Mulraney (32)
Opening squads
Bratveit (GK),
Fossum (C),
Risa (Ingebrigtsen 85), Odegaard,
Reitan (Johnsen 70),
Kieran O Hara
Corey Whelan
Shaun Donnellan
Danny Kane
Ryan Manning
Declan Rice
Ryan Sweeney
Josh Cullen
Henry Charsley
Ronan Curtis
Jake Mulraney
Amund Wichne (G)
Vebjørn Hoff
Fredrik Knudsen
Dennis Johnsen
Runar Espejord
Mikael Ingebrigtsen
22 Tobias Heintz
Caoimhin Kelleher
Conor Shaughnessy
Rory Hale
Conor Dimaio
Liam Kinsella
Connor Ronan
Joseph Quigley
Johnsen for Reitan 70 mins,
Ingebrigtsen for Risa 85 minsEspejod for Bjordal 73 mins,
Connor Ronan -> Ryan Manning (85)
Yellow cards
Iver Fossum 63 mins,
Julian Ryerson 90 mins,
Ronan Curtis (38)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
Late Fossum strike ends unbeaten campaign

Republic of Ireland Under-21s' unbeaten start to their UEFA European Championship qualifying campaign came to an end as Norway left it late to claim a 2-1 victory.

Ireland went behind thanks to Martin Odegaard's opener but a brilliant Jake Mulraney effort levelled the tie before the break. Ireland held out until the final minute of the game but Iver Fossen's strike won the game for the home side.

With temperatures as low as minus three on the 3G surface at the Marienlyst Stadion in Dremmen, Norway dominated the early stages of the game and went ahead just before the 20th minute. A neat interchange saw Henrik Bjordal break down the left side and cut back to find Odegaard, who evaded the on-rushing Kieran O'Hara to tuck home.

Ireland responded well to going behind and just before the half-hour, Ireland saw a penalty claim turned down. Neat passing play found QPR forward Ryan Manning on the edge of the area and his through-ball found Harry Charsley who went down under the challenge of Kristoffer Ajer, but the referee waved the claims away.

Soon after, Ireland were level. Declan Rice found the run of Jake Mulraney just over the half-way line and his pace saw him fly past Julian Ryerson, and into the area to finish under the keeper in the 32nd minute.

Ireland continued to create problems for Norway during the second-half as Manning and Ronan Curtis saw long-range efforts go wide from distance. Keeper O'Hara denied Odegaard with a brilliant save from a 20-yard free-kick as the game headed towards a draw.

However, Ireland were denied a deserved point in the final minute of the match as Curtis' header only half-cleared a right-sided corner and captain Fossem fired home to give the home side all three points.

Republic of Ireland U21 Head Coach Noel King said: "It's a tough one to take. We've worked so hard throughout the entire match and we definitely deserved a point.

"To lose it in the final minute of the game, it's always going to hurt but I'm incredibly proud of this great group of players. They've shown a lot of hunger, desire and passion for the cause tonight in difficult conditions and they should be proud of their efforts.

"That is a good Norway team, full of talent, and over two games, only the final minute of the game separates us. The players are in the dressing room but they want to get into the next game against Azerbaijan next year and get another positive result on the board.

"We've had a great start to the campaign so I'm sure we'll bounce back from this defeat. It's a long campaign and I believe in this group of players."

Republic of Ireland: O'Hara (GK), Kane, Donnellan, Sweeney, Whelan, Rice, Cullen (C), Charsley, Curtis, Manning (Ronan 85), Mulraney.

Norway: Bratveit (GK), Ryerson, Hanche-Olsen, Ajer, Jenssen, Fossum (C), Thorsby, Risa (Ingebrigtsen 85), Odegaard, Reitan (Johnsen 70), Bjordal (Espejord 73)

Referee: Ville Nevalainen (FIN)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.