Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Republic of Ireland [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
08.06.2022 at 19:45 Aviva Stadium Attendance:
Republic of Ireland 0 - 1 Ukraine
Referee: Filip Glova (SVK) Nations League / PROG-match

None. Tsygankov 49 mins,
Opening squads
Caoimhin Kelleher
Nathan Collins
John Egan
Jason Knight
Cyrus Christie
Shane Duffy
Enda Stevens
Josh Cullen
Jeff Hendrick
Chiedozie Ogbene
Callum Robinson
Lunin (GK),
Sydorchuk ©,
Zubkov .
James Talbot
Mark Travers
Dara O Shea
Conor Hourihane
Alan Browne
Jayson Molumby
Will Keane
Michael Obafemi
CJ Hamilton
Troy Parrott
James Mc Clean
Pyatov (GK),
Riznyk (GK),
Dara O Shea -> John Egan (62)
Michael Obafemi -> Callum Robinson (69)
Alan Browne -> Cyrus Christie (69)
James Mc Clean -> Enda Stevens (69)
CJ Hamilton -> Chiedozie Ogbene (78)
Tsygankov for Zubkov 46 mins,
Karavaev for Kacharaba 72 mins,
Pikhalonok for Mudryk 72 mins
Sikan for Dovbyk 80 mins
Ihnatenk for Sydorchuk 89 mins
Yellow cards
Josh Cullen (54)
Mykolenko 78 mins,
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Ireland lost their second match in a row as Viktor Tsygankov scored in the second half to give Ukraine a 1-0 victory at the Aviva Stadium.

9th Jun 2022

Ireland came close several times but was unable to convert the opportunities. Stephen Kenny made two changes, bringing in Cyrus Christie and Jason Knight into the side from the Armenia defeat.

Festy Ebosele and James Talbot were on the bench for this UEFA Nations League match. Jason Knight and Callum Robinson each had two early chances for Ireland, but neither could test Lunin in the Ukrainian goal.

Knight was set to score again, but a diving save by Lunin, who knocked the ball around the post, denied him. Matviyenko tried his luck from long range for the hosts, but his shot curled wide of Irish goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher.

Mudryk broke inside the area, but his shot was off target. Shane Duffy made a wonderful block to keep Sydorchuk, while Kelleher saved a long-range effort from Zubkov with a well-taken stop. Ireland was denied a penalty after Callum Robinson was brought down in the area by a challenge, but the referee did not award it.

Kacharaba put the ball in the back of the net for Ukraine, but the goal was disallowed due to an offside call in the build-up. Viktor Tsygankov, a second-half substitution, gave Ukraine the lead after a free-kick was delivered into the Irish goal area and met by Tsygankov, who glanced his header past Kelleher to put the visitors ahead.

Shane Duffy came close for Ireland, almost giving the home side an immediate response, but Lunin stopped his header. Shane Duffy once again had a brace of chances to draw Ireland level, the first coming from a James McClean free-kick that was cleared by the Ukrainian defence before the ball was given to him in the second phase of play, with Duffy failing to get the ball out from under his feet.

Ireland had two quick chances to level, with Hamilton and Obafemi both going close, Hamilton's effort hit the crossbar and Obafemi's strike went narrowly wide at the back post. With a long-range shot that barely missed the target, John Cullen came close to scoring his first international goal.

In additional time, Jason Knight blazed his shot over the bar, but Shane Duffy's overhead effort was knocked down that found its way to the awaiting Irish midfielder. Tsygankov came close to adding a second goal for Ukraine, but his shot was deflected for a corner thanks to a crucial Nathan Collins block.

Ireland will be back at the Aviva Stadium this Saturday as Stephen Kenny’s side face Scotland.

Republic of Ireland: Kelleher (GK), Christie (Browne 69), Stevens (McClean 69), Duffy ©, Egan (O’Shea 59), Cullen, Robinson (Obafemi 69), Collins, Hendrick, Knight, Ogbene (Hamilton 78).
Subs not used: Talbot (GK) Travers (GK), Hourihane, Keane, Parrott, Molumby, Ebosele.

Ukraine: Lunin (GK), Syrota, Popov, Sydorchuk ©, Shaparenko, Dovbyk (Sikan 80), Mudryk (Pikhalonok 72), Mykolenko, Bondar, Kacharaba (Karavaev 72), Zubkov (Tsygankov 46).
Subs not used: Pyatov (GK), Riznyk (GK), Sobol, Ihnatenko, Malinovskyi, Sikan, Zabarnyi, Tsygankov, Zinchenko, Matviyenko

Carlsberg Man of the Match: Jason Knight

Referee: Filip Glova (SVK)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.