Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Republic of Ireland [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
04.06.2022 at 17:00 Republican Stadium, Yerevan Attendance:
Armenia 1 - 0 Republic of Ireland
Referee: Radu Petrescu (ROU) Nations League-match

Spertsyan 74 mins, None.
Opening squads
Yurchenko (GK),
Haroyan ©,
Bichakhchyan (Adamyan 55).
Caoimhin Kelleher
Seamus Coleman
Enda Stevens
Shane Duffy
Nathan Collins
John Egan
Josh Cullen
Jeff Hendrick
Chiedozie Ogbene
Troy Parrott
Callum Robinson
CJ Hamilton
Avagyan (GK)
Beglaryan (GK),
Mark Travers
Gavin Bazunu
Dara O Shea
Cyrus Christie
Jason Knight
Alan Browne
Jayson Molumby
Conor Hourihane
James Mc Clean
Michael Obafemi
Will Keane
Adamyan for Bichakhchyan 55 mins,
Dashyan for Barseghyan 88 mins,
Michael Obafemi -> Troy Parrott (65)
Jason Knight -> Callum Robinson (74)
Alan Browne -> Josh Cullen (81)
Will Keane -> Seamus Coleman (81)
James Mc Clean -> Enda Stevens (255)
Yellow cards
Mkrtchyan 86 mins, Shane Duffy (9)
Jeff Hendrick (83)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
The Republic of Ireland was defeated in their UEFA Nations League opener in Yerevan when Eduard Spertsyan's second-half strike was enough to give Armenia victory.

4th Jun 2022

On a disappointing night in the Armenian capital, Ireland had a number of chances but failed to convert them.

For the match, Stephen Kenny gave Caoimhn Kelleher and Nathan Collins their competitive debuts, with Troy Parrott starting up front.

Jeff Hendrick's through ball to Chiedozie Ogbene provided the visitors with their first chance on goal, but he couldn't make the right connection, as it was well-read by Yurchenko in the Armenian goal.

Barseghyan broke down the left flank and struck a low effort that forced a fantastic save from Caoimhín Kelleher, who pushed the ball around the post. This was followed by a shot from Spertsyan that Shane Duffy inside the area stopped.

Ireland continued to press and Callum Robinson was next to have a sight on goal but his effort struck the side netting he would get another opportunity however his effort inside the Armenia area was hooked clear by Hambartsumyan.

After some clever link-up play between Hendrick and Robinson, Chiedozie Ogbene went close, but his strike went just wide of the goal. He would follow it up with the best chance of the half just before the break when a set-piece delivered into the box by Josh Cullen saw the striker's free header clip the crossbar.

Armenia had a chance to score in the first five minutes of the second half, but Barseghyan's well-hit shot was ruled out for offside in the build-up. Calum Robinson then hit the side netting with a low attempt from outside of the Armenia area moments later. Barseghyan went close again for the home side, but his left-footed curling effort went just wide.

When Nathan Collins headed a Josh Cullen corner straight at Yurchenko, Ireland came close to opening the scoring once more.

It was the home side that would take the lead when Spertsyan's long-range strike got past Kelleher at the near post to give Armenia the lead in the 75th minute.

Ireland came close to drawing level when John Egan's header from a free-kick flew just past the Armenian far post, but Stephen Kenny's side couldn't create another meaningful chance before its conclusion.

Stephen Kenny and his side will now turn their attention to next week when they face Ukraine in the Aviva Stadium.

Armenia: Yurchenko (GK), Hovhannisyan, Haroyan ©, Grigoryan, Bayramyan, Spertsyan, Barseghyan (Dashyan 88), Hovhannisyan, Mkoyan, Hambartsumyan, Bichakhchyan (Adamyan 55).

Subs not used: Avagyan (GK) Beglaryan (GK), Voskanyan, Wbeymar, Babayan, Harutyunyan, Monroy, Udo, Serobyan, Mkrtchyan

Republic of Ireland: Kelleher (GK), Collins, Duffy, Egan, Coleman © (Keane 80), Hendrick, Cullen (Browne 80), Stevens (McClean 72), Ogbene, Robinson (Knight 72), Parrott (Obafemi 65).

Subs not used: Bazunu (GK) Travers (GK), Hourihane, Keane, McClean, Browne, Molumby, O’Shea, Hamilton, Christie

Carlsberg Man of the Match: Chiedozie Ogbene

Referee: Radu Petrescu (ROU)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.