Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
15.06.2019 at 15:00 Salon-de-Provence , Provence, France Attendance:
Mexico 0 - 0
(4 - 3 PEN.)
Under 21
Referee: M. Gonzalez Alveal (CHI) Toulon Tournament-match

None None.
Opening squads
Jurado (GK),
Angulo (C),
Caoimhin Kelleher
Lee O Connor
Conor Masterson
Tyreke Wilson
Canice Carroll
Liam Scales
Stephen Mallon
Aaron Drinan
Jamie Lennon
Jason Knight
Jack Taylor
Conor Kearns
Darragh Leahy
Connor Ronan
Aaron Connolly
Adam Idah
Lopez for Cisneros 60 mins,
Aquirre for Beltran 60 mins,
Aguirre for Esquival 75 mins
Torres for Cardona 84 mins,
Darragh Leahy -> Tyreke Wilson (58)
Aaron Connolly -> Stephen Mallon (58)
Conor Kearns -> Caoimhin Kelleher (65)
Connor Ronan -> Jason Knight (75)
Adam Idah -> Aaron Drinan (77)
Yellow cards
None Canice Carroll
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
After a goalless 90 minutes, Mexico secured victory on penalties as captain Jesus Angulo stepped up for the fifth and final penalty to seal a 4-3 win.

A much-changed Ireland side dominated the vast majority of the game and went closest through Canice Carroll in the first-half. With 10 minutes gone, Aaron Drinan found the onrushing Carroll just outside the area but he dragged his shot wide.

Just before the break, Carroll went close again as Lee O'Connor's right-sided free-kick found the midfielder and his header was deflected wide.

Ireland continued to create chances in the second-half and had two chances in the final five minutes of the game. Substitute Connor Ronan crossed for fellow substitute Aaron Connolly and he found the impressive Jack Taylor but he placed his effort wide from the edge of the area.

In added-time, Taylor had another opportunity to secure third spot. Substitute Darragh Leahy's long-throw was flicked on to Taylor but his half-volley went over the bar from six yards out.

Connor Ronan saw Ireland's first penalty saved but substitute goalkeeper Conor Kearns pulled off an excellent save to level the penalty shoot-out. Leahy was forced to repeat his penalty by the referee and the keeper saved the second penalty for captain Angulo to win the shoot-out.

Republic of Ireland: Kelleher (GK (Kearns 65), O'Connor, Masterson (C), Wilson (Leahy 58), Scales, Carroll, Lennon, Taylor, Knight (Ronan 75), Mallon (Connolly 58), Drinan (Idah 77).

Mexico: Jurado (GK), Mozo, Angulo (C), Calderon, Vazquez, Esquival (Aguirre 75) Beltran (Aguirre 60), Medina, Cardona (Torres 84), Ruiz, Cisneros (Lopez 60).

Referee: M. Gonzalez Alveal (CHI)

Yellow Card(s): Carroll
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.