Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
15.11.2020 at 12:30 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Under 21 1 - 2 Iceland
Referee: Juan Martinez Munuera (ESP) European Qualifier / PROG-match

Ari Leifsson (o.g.) (75)
Sveinn Aron Gudjohnsen 25 Mins;
Valdimar Thór Ingimundarson 90+3 mins;
Opening squads
Ed Mc Ginty
Lee O Connor
Nathan Collins
Liam Scales
Conor Masterson
Zach Elbouzedi
Conor Coventry
Jack Taylor
Connor Ronan
Michael Obafemi
Anthony Scully
W.T. Willumsson
Þorsteinsson (C)
Brian Maher
Darragh Leahy
Danny Mc Namara
Mark Mc Guinness
Thomas O Connor
Dan Mandroiu
Danny Grant
Troy Parrott
Joshua Kayode
Elias Rafn Olafsson (G)
Valgeir Lunddal Fridriksson
Ísak Ólafsson
Ísak Bergmann Johannesson
Brynjolfur Andersen Willumsson
Valdimar Thór Ingimundarson
Bjarki Steinn Bjarkason
Thórir Jóhann Helgason
Kolbeinn Thórdarson
Troy Parrott -> Anthony Scully (46)
Joshua Kayode -> Michael Obafemi (74)
Dan Mandroiu -> Connor Ronan (74)
Thomas O Connor -> Conor Coventry (83)
Danny Grant -> Zach Elbouzedi (83)
Johannesson for Baldursson 60 mins;
Helgason for WT Williamsson 61 mins;
B.A. Willumsson for Finsson 72 mins;
Ingimundarson for Gudhohnsen 73 mins;
Yellow cards
Liam Scales (86)
Ari Leifsson 15 Mins;
Kolbeinn Finnsson 20 Mins;
Red cards
Nathan Collins (88)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
The Republic of Ireland Under-21s suffered a heart breaking 2-1 defeat to Iceland in their UEFA European Under-21 Championship qualifier at Tallaght Stadium.

15th Nov 2020

Valdimar Ingimundarson’s goal deep into stoppage time won it for the Icelandics who leap frog Ireland into the important second place in Group 1.

Ireland were reduced to 10 men late on when Nathan Collins saw red for an alleged off-the-ball incident.

But just minutes earlier they had come from behind when Joshua Kayode’s deflected effort was turned in for an own goal.

Jim Crawford was forced into a late change before the game with Gavin Bazunu ruled out through injury and replaced by Ed McGinty who started in goal - his first apperance at Under-21s level. Bray Wanderers’ Brian Maher was called into the squad as a replacement.

Ireland had the ball in the net early on through Anthony Scully but the striker just strayed offside.

In tricky conditions the visitors looked to take advantage of their height with a couple of early crosses testing McGinty.

Ireland grew into the game with Ronan and Coventry dictating the play in midfield and Obafemi and Scully looking a threat to the Iceland backline.

But it was Iceland who took the lead in the 25th minute. A ball played down the left channel saw Sveinn Aron Gudjohnsen get in on goal and loft the ball over McGinty.

Ireland responded well and took the game to Iceland. Liam Scales got beyond the full back and deliver a floating cross that just evaded Scully at the back post.

Just before half time Lee O’Connor delivered a fantastic cross that was met by =Jack Taylor but he couldn’t generate enough power to force the keeper into action. Then Obafemi tricked his way into the box and set it up for Elbouzedi but the Lincoln man’s effort was well saved.

At half-time Troy Parrott was introduced in replace of Scully as Crawford’s side showed attacking intent.

Iceland had a great chance on 62 minutes to double their lead but McGinty produced an excellent block to keep them at bay.

Obafemi also went close when he was found by O’Connor but his sharp shot hit the side netting.

In the 76th minute Ireland got the breakthrough. Another cross by Lee O’Connor caused danger, substitute Koyade got a toe onto the ball and it was deflect in past P.S Gunnarsson for an own goal.

As Ireland pushed on their task was made more difficult when Collins saw red. Then deep into stoppage time Ingimundarson managed to get onto a cross to give the visitors the win at the death.

Republic of Ireland: McGinty; L.O’Connor, Masterson (C), Collins, Scales; Coventry (O’Connor, 83), Taylor, Ronan (Mandoiru 74), Scully (Parrott, 46), Elbouzedi (Grant, 83), Obafemi (Odaye, 74).

Iceland: P.S.Gunnarsson, Sampsted, Þorkelsson, Leifsson, Gunnarsson; Hauksson, Baldursson (Johannesson, 60), W.T. Willumsson (Helgason, 61), Finsson (B.A. Willumsson, 72), Gudhohnsen (Ingimundarson, 73), Þorsteinsson (C)

Referee: Juan Martinez Munuera (ESP)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.