Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
16.05.2008 at 02:00 Attendance:
Malaysia 1 - 3 Under 21
Referee: Tournament-match

Sali 90+4 Michael Collins (22)
Michael Collins (26)
Stephen Ward (56)
Opening squads
Shane Redmond
David Elebert
Michael Spillane
Darren Dennehy
Shane Lowry
Eddie Nolan
Keith Treacy
Stephen Ward
Michael Collins
James Berrett
Billy Clarke
Paul Skinner
Simon Madden
Stephen Maher
Mark Salmon
James Ryan
Karl Moore
Alan Judge
None Stephen Maher -> David Elebert (69)
James Ryan -> Darren Dennehy (73)
Alan Judge -> Keith Treacy (84)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Under-23 Intercontinental Cup tournament

Malaysia 1 Republic of Ireland 3
Sali 94 Collins 22, 26,Ward

The Republic of Ireland opened their Under-23 Intercontinental Cup tournament campaign today with a 3-1 victory over hosts Malaysia.

Five of the team were making their debuts at this level. Goalkeeper Shane Redmond, defenders Darren Dennehy, David Elebert and Shane Lowry will made their bows along with midfielder James Berrett.

Eddie Nolan, Michael Spillane, Michael Collins, Keith Treacy, Billy Clarke and captain Stephen Ward have all represented the Republic of Ireland at the Under-21 age-group.

Two goals from Michael Collins gave Ireland a two goal cushion at the break before captain Stephen Ward added a third in the second half.

Malaysia pulled a goal back deep into stoppage time with a header from Sali.

Republic of Ireland manager Don Givens gave debuts to five players at this age-group in his starting team and expressed his satisfaction with the display afterwards - considering the youthfulness of his team.

Michael Collins opened the scoring on 22 minutes with a glancing header from Keith Treacy’s pinpoint right-wing delivery.

Huddersfield Town man Collins scored again four minutes later from a fantastic low drive which was drilled home from the edge of the penalty area to give the Malaysian goalkeeper no chance.

The home side briefly threatened with a spell of pressure just as the game passed the half hour mark and thought they had reduced the deficit on 37 minutes.

Razak burst through on goal and had the ball in the net but the referee ruled it out for his foul on Irish defender Darren Dennehy during the build-up.

Collins almost netted his and Ireland’s third goal three minutes before the break with another stinging shot from distance. On this occasion, the effort fizzed narrowly wide of the post.

Ireland maintained their zest in attack after the restart and took only eleven minutes to extend their lead to 3-0.

Billy Clarke did the spadework with a great run and cross from the right flank and perfectly placed to head home from close range was Ireland captain Stephen Ward.

The humid conditions caught up with the Irish players during the last 20 minutes and Givens introduced three substitutes to freshen things up. The apperances of James Ryan (pictured left) and Stephen Maher brought the number of debutants to seven.

As full-time approached, Malaysia scored four minutes into added time to make it 3-1 through Sali’s firm header which powered past Irish goalkeeper Shane Redmond.

Givens was pleased with how the game went. He said: “The result is a great start for us in the tournament. Malaysia were a good technical side and they caused us a few problems.

“We had a young, inexperienced team out on the pitch and they performed well to get the three points. The only part that disappointed me was some of our defending in the second half.

“The hot weather was always going to be a problem for us but I felt we dealt well with it. All of the lads are very tired after the game.”

Ireland follow up today’s group opener at the eight-nation Asia event by meeting tournament favourites, Nigeria, this Saturday (11.30am Irish time).

The group stage finishes next Monday, May 19, with Iraq providing the opposition (1.45pm Irish time) .

Chile, Australia, Croatia and Ghana are competing in the other Group with the winner of each pool qualifying for the final.

Republic of Ireland:

Shane Redmond - Nottingham Forest
Eddie Nolan - Blackburn Rovers
Darren Dennehy - Everton
Michael Spillane - Norwich City
Shane Lowry - Aston Villa
David Elebert – Hamilton Academicals
Michael Collins – Huddersfield Town
James Berrett – Huddersfield Town
Keith Treacy - Blackburn Rovers
Billy Clarke - Ipswich Town
Stephen Ward - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Stephen Maher - Yeovil Town for Elebert (69 mins)
James Ryan – Shrewsbury Town for Dennehy (73 mins)
Alan Judge - Blackburn Rovers for Treacy (84 mins).
Substitutes not used:
Paul Skinner – Celtic
Simon Madden – Leeds United
Mark Salmon – Wolverhampton Wanderers
Karl Moore - Manchester City

Irelands Result and Fixtures (Group A):

Thursday, May 15
Republic of Ireland 3-1 Malaysia
Malaysia, 9pm local time (2pm Irish time)

Saturday, May 17
Republic of Ireland v Nigeria
Malaysia, 6.30pm local time (11.30am Irish time)

Tuesday, May 19
Republic of Ireland v Iraq
Malaysia, 8.45pm local time (1.45pm Irish time).

Republic of Ireland Under-21 manager Don Givens announced his squad on Wednesday for the eight-nation Intercontinental Cup to be held in Malaysia from May 15th. Ireland have been drawn in a Group alongside Nigeria, Iraq and Malaysia.

Givens has so far named 19 players and will add one more player to the panel before departing for Malaysia.

“We have a very young squad going out”, said Givens. “The Scottish season is still underway and there are play-off matches to be played in England so we decided not to call-up any player who may be involved in those matches.

“We also decided not to involve any eircom League of Ireland players, who are currently mid-season.

“The eircom League of Ireland managers have been very co-operative with me in the past and so I don’t want to call-up players who have important league matches to play.”

He added:“The other teams involved in the tournament are all Under-23, so we will have the youngest squad there. However, I think that it is a great opportunity to have a look at players who will be eligible for the next Under-21 qualifying campaign.”

Republic of Ireland Under-21 Squad for Malaysia Tournament:

Darren Randolph - Charlton Athletic
Shane Redmond - Nottingham Forest
Darren Dennehy - Everton
Eddie Nolan - Blackburn Rovers
Michael Spillane - Norwich City
Shane Lowry - Aston Villa
Ian Morris - Scunthorpe
Marc Wilson - Portsmouth
Michael Collins – Huddersfield Town
Stephen Quinn - Sheffield United
Alan Power - Nottingham Forest
Keith Keane - Luton Town
Keith Treacy - Blackburn Rovers
Anthony Stokes - Sunderland
Billy Clarke - Ipswich Town
Karl Moore - Manchester City
Alan Judge - Blackburn Rovers
Stephen Maher - Yeovil Town
James Berrett - Huddersfield.
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.