Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Republic of Ireland [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
11.06.2000 at 00:00 Giants Stadium, New Jersey Attendance: 45008
South Africa 1 - 2 Republic of Ireland
Referee: Rodrigo Badilla Sequeira (Mexico) US Nike Cup-match

Shaun Bartlett 14 mins; Stephen Mc Phail (43)
Niall Quinn (68)
Opening squads
Andre Arendse.
Cyril Nzama,
Andrew Rabulta,
Jacob Lekgetho,
Aaron Mokoena,
Quinton Fortune,
Dumisi Ngobe,
Helam Mkhalele,
Benni McCarthy
Delron Buckley,
Shaun Bartlett
Shay Given
Gary Breen
Terry Phelan
Phil Babb
Stephen Carr
Stephen Mc Phail
Jason Mc Ateer
Matt Holland
Alan Mahon
Dominic Foley
Niall Quinn
Arthur Zwane,
Patrick Mayo,
Thabo Mngomeni,
Dillon Sheppard,
Godfrey Sapula,
Gary Doherty
Kevin Kilbane
Barry Quinn
Mark Kennedy
Robbie Keane
Sheppard for McCarthy 46 mins;
Mayo for Ngobe 46 mins;
Sapula for Buckley 46 mins;
Thomas Mngomeni for Mkhalele 76 mins;
Zwane for Quinton Fortune 76 mins
Kevin Kilbane -> Alan Mahon (42)
Mark Kennedy -> Jason Mc Ateer (44)
Robbie Keane -> Dominic Foley (46)
Gary Doherty -> Niall Quinn (76)
Barry Quinn -> Stephen Mc Phail (86)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Match report

Pictures from the match
Match: 357
Sunday, 11th June 2000

Statto Niall Quinns 20th
International goal

International Tournament - US Nike Cup

Republic of Ireland 2 (McPhail, Quinn)
South Africa 1 (Bartlett)

In the second game of the day, Ireland claimed the second spot in the Cup standings with a 2-1 victory over South Africa. South Africa got on the board first when captain Shaun Bartlett fed Benni McCarthy for a 14th minute goal. Ireland came back with a Stephen McPhail goal in the 24th minute. Late in the second half, Niall Quinn scored the winning goal. This was his 20th international goal, placing him in a tie with Frank Stapleton on Ireland’s all time goals list.

South Africa - Andre Arendse, Cyril Nzama, Andrew Rabutla, Jacob Lekgetho, Aaron Mokoena, Quinton Fortune (Arthur Zwane 75'), Dumisi Ngobe (Patrick Mayo 46'), Helman Mkhalele (Thabo Mngomeni 75'), Benni McCarthy (Dillon Sheppard 46'), Delron Buckley (Godfrey Sapula 46'), Shaun Barlett (captain)
Ireland: Shay Given (Newcastle), Stephen Carr (Tottenham), Gary Breen (Coventry), Phil Babb (Liverpool), Terry Phelan (Fulham), Jason McAteer (Blackburn), Stephen McPhail (Leeds), Matt Holland (Ipswich), Alan Mahon (Tranmere), Niall Quinn (Sunderland), Dominic Foley (Watford)

Subs: Kevin Kilbane (Sunderland) for Mahon 37 mins, Mark Kennedy (Manchester City) for McAteer 44 mins, Robbie Keane (Coventry) for Foley 45 mins, Gary Doherty (Tottenham) for Quinn 74 mins, Barry Quinn (Coventry) for McPhail 86 mins

Manager: Mick McCarthy
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.