Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/www2/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
01.09.2000 at 19:00 De Goffert - Nijmegen - Attendance:
Netherlands 2 - 0 Under 21
Referee: Kazimir Znaydinsky (BLR) European Qualifier-match

van der Gun 50 mins,
Ax 86 mins.
Opening squads
Jelle ten Rouwelaar
Resit Schuurman
Jannes Wolters
Kevin Hofland
Pascal Bosschaart
Remco van der Schaaf
Andy van der Meyde
Theo Janssen
Dirk Kuyt
Hendrik van Beelen
Kevin Bobson
Dean Delaney
Clive Clarke
Alan Quinn
John Mc Grath
Gary Doherty
Jason Gavin
John O Shea
Michael Reddy
Colin Healy
James O Connor
Barry Quinn
Serge van den Ban
Peter Wisgerhof
Joost Broerse
Cedric van der Gun
Brutil Hose
Patrick Ax
Karim Touzani
Joseph Murphy
Damien Lynch
Martin Rowlands
Liam Miller
Graham Barrett
Richie Partridge
Stephen Hunt
Patrick Ax for van der Meyde 46 mins,
Van der Gun for Bobson 46 mins,
Hose for van Beelan 81 mins,
Graham Barrett -> Gary Doherty (78)
Richie Partridge -> Alan Quinn (83)
Yellow cards
Kevin Hofland 65 mins, Jason Gavin (42)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Holland u21 2 Ireland u21 0

Half-time substitutes Patrick Ax and Cedric van der Gun took just five minutes to make it a bad night for the Irish u21s in Nijmegan.

The two combined for Van der Gun to score Holland's opener with a simple tap-in in the 50th minute.

Until then, Don Givens' side had looked well capable of taking at least a point. They had a good spell midway through the first half in which Alan Quinn and Barry Quinn had shots saved and Michael Reddy had a strong penalty claim waved away by the Polish referee.

But the Dutch blossomed after their first goal and Ireland had 'keeper Dean Delaney to thank for keeping them in the game with a succession of good saves. Ireland's only real chance of an equaliser came from a long-range free by Barry Quinn which was inches off target.

The Irish held out until four minutes from time when Patrick Ax's 25-yard shot deflected of Stoke's Clive Clarke, giving Delaney no chance.

Holland: Ten Rouwelaar, Schuurman, Wolters, Hofland (capt), Bosschaart, Van der Schaaf, Van der Meyde, Janssen, Kuyt, Van Beelen, Bobson.
Subs: Van der Gun for Van der Meyde 46; Ax for Bobson 46; Hose for Van Beelen 81.
Unused subs: Van den Bann, Wisgerhof, Broerse, Touzani.
Goals: Van der Gun 50, Ax 86.
Booked: Hofland 65

Ireland Dean Delaney (Port Vale), Colin Healy (Celtic), Clive Clarke (Stoke City), John O'Shea (Manchester United, Jason Gavin (Middlesbrough), Barry Quinn - capt. (Coventry City), James O'Connor (Stoke City), Michael Reddy (Sunderland), Gary Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Alan Quinn (Sheffield Wednesday), John McGrath (Aston Villa).
Subs: Graham Barrett (Arsenal) for Doherty 78; Richie Partridge (Liverpool) for Alan Quinn 83.
Unused subs: Joe Murphy (Tranmere Rovers), Damien Lynch (Leeds United), Martin Rowlands (Brentford), Steve Hunt (Crystal Palace), Liam Miller (Celtic).
Booked: Jason Gavin 42.

Referee: Kazimir Znaydinsky (Poland)
Attendance: 4,000
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.